Share the Legacy. Be part of the Vision.

To celebrate our 50th anniversary in 2019, we've created a suite of materials for the media and public to use throughout the year.

Our Story 

In 1969, 23 of the western-most counties in Texas had no hospital, 19 had no physician, and the area had only one-half the national ratio of physicians-to-patients.

Today, the health care landscape is much different thanks to the visionary leadership of those who saw a need not only for a medical school in West Texas, but also a full-fledged Health Sciences Center.

In May 1969, the 61st Texas Legislature and Gov. Preston Smith created Texas Tech University School of Medicine as a multi-campus institution with campuses in Amarillo, Lubbock and Odessa. Ten years later, the state expanded the charter forming Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Through the years, TTUHSC has expanded to include schools of Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacy and a Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences as well as added campuses in Abilene, Dallas-Fort Worth and El Paso. In May 2013, Gov. Rick Perry signed Senate Bill 120, which established TTUHSC at El Paso as its own independent institution.

From the beginning, TTUHSC was entrusted with a singular charge: to teach the next generation of health care professionals while simultaneously providing the people of West Texas with world-class patient care. Today, TTUHSC serves 4,000 students across the nation and boasts almost 28,000 alumni, 24% of whom remained in the university’s 108-county service area. Fifty years later, pressing on.

Download: Official Press Release - January 23, 2019




anniversary logo 1

Download: JPG, PNG, PDF

anniversary logo 2

Download: JPG, PNG, PDF




tedd mitchell presidentTedd L. Mitchell, M.D.
President, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
1974 construction of ttuhsc1974 Construction of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
1972 freshman class1972 Freshman class, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center - School of Medicine
preston smith bill signingH.B. No. 498 was signed by Governor Preston Smith authorizing Texas Tech University to plan, organize and create a school of medicine in Lubbock to serve the West Texas region.



30 Seconds



120 Seconds







Questions about the 50th



Suzanna Cisneros
Director of Media Relations 

Melissa Whitfield
Media Relations Coordinators

Regional Contacts

Jessica Zuniga
Managing Director, Permian Basin

Kelly Podzemny
Regional Communications & Marketing Manager, Amarillo

Placeholder image


Optional subheading text

View more
Placeholder image


Optional subheading text

View more

Got Questions?

We're here to help. Contact us if you have questions.

John Doe

(555) 555 - 5555

example image

Spotlight Example Header

Enter spotlight text here.